The Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts (by short SASA), founded in 1938, is the supreme national institution of sciences and arts. It associates scientists and artists, who have been elected as its members for their outstanding achievements in the field of sciences and arts.

SASA cultivates, encourages and promote sciences and arts, through its activities, contributes to the development of scientific thought and creativity in the arts, particularly by:

  • addressing basic issues of sciences and arts;
  • participating in establishing the policies of research activities and creativity in arts;
  • giving appraisals, proposals and opinions on the position, development and promotion of sciences and arts, and on the organization of research activities and creativity in the arts;
  • organizing research work, also in cooperation with universities and other research institutions, particularly in the fields which are important for the awareness of and gaining insight into the natural and cultural heritage of the Slovenian nation and for the development of its language and culture, and
  • developing international cooperation in the field of sciences and arts.

The management bodies of SASA are the Assembly, the Presidency and the President. The Assembly is the management body of SASA, composed of all full and associate members. The honorary and corresponding members of SASA may also participate in the work of the Assembly. The Presidency of SASA is composed of the President, two Vice-Presidents, the Secretary-General, the Secretaries of Sections and three SASA members elected by the Assembly in accordance with the Law. The current affairs of the Presidency are dealt with by the Executive Board, composed of the President, the two Vice-Presidents and the Secretary-General. The President, the two Vice-Presidents, the Secretary-General and the Secretaries of Sections are elected for the period of three years with the possibility of one further re-election.

The Executive Board of the Presidency:
Boštjan Žekš, President
Jože Trontelj, Vice-President
Alenka Šelih, Vice-President
Matija Gogala, Secretary-General

SASA has a maximum of 60 full and 30 associate members. The limitation relates to members under 75 years old. At present it has 71 full and 28 associate members. SASA has also a maximum of 90 corresponding members from scientific institutions abroad. At present it has 81 corresponding members.

The Slovenian Academy of Sciences and Arts is active in different classes of research, as reflected in the corresponding following six sections of the Academy:

  • Section of Historical and Social Scienceshas 12 full members, 5 associate members and 15 corresponding members. Secretary is Rajko Bratož. Section has two subsections. Head of Subsection of Historical Sciences is Biba Teržan, Head of Subsection of Social Sciences is Marijan Pavčnik.
  • Section of Philological and Literary Sciences has 13 full members, 3 associate members and 16 corresponding members. Secretary is Matjaž Kmecl.
  • Section of Mathematical, Physical, Chemical and Technical Sciences has17 full members, 6 associate members and 18 corresponding members. Secretary is Peter Fajfar. Section has two subsections. Head of Subsection of Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Sciences is Josip Globevnik, Head of Subsection of Technical Sciences is Igor Grabec.
  • Section of Natural Sciences has 13 full members, 1 associate members and 12 corresponding members. Secretary is Mitja Zupančič.
  • Section of Arts has 10 full members, 8 associate members and 12 corresponding members. Secretary is Andrej Jemec.
  • Section of Medical Sciences has 7 full members, 5 associate members and 9 corresponding members. Secretary is Janez Sketelj.

The Academy has six special units:
Department for International Relations and Scientific Coordination is headed by a full member of SASA. The present head is Branko Stanovnik.
The SASA Library is the third greatest library in Slovenia, regularly exchanges publications with scientific institutions all over the world. The Library is headed by Marija Fabjančič.
Council for Studies and protection of the Environment at SASA is headed by Avguštin Lah
Committee for Studies of Ethnic Communities is headed by Anton Vratuša
Valvasor Committee at SASA is headed by Matjaž Kmecl
Committee for Medical Studies was headed by Marijan Kordaš.

The Administration of SASA is headed by the Executive Director who is also responsible for economic-financial and administrative-technical services in the special units. The present Executive Director is Zoran Mezeg.

SASA has been also the founder of important research institutes, such as Jozef Stefan Institute, National Institute of Chemistry, Turboinstitute and Milan Vidmar Electric Power Research Institute. It is still the founder of the latter one. It should be pointed out that the Academy is the founder of the Scientific Research center of SASA which is an autonomous research organization yet closely connected with the Academy. Namely, together with SASA, the Center has been implementing the long-term program Natural and Cultural Heritage of the Slovenian Nation in the following institutes: Fran Ramovš Institute of the Slovenian Language, Institute of Archaeology, Milko Kos Institute of History, France Stele Institute of Art History, Institute of Musicology, Institute of Slovenian Literature and Literary Sciences, Institute of Slovenian Ethnology, Institute of Ethnomusicology, Institute for Slovene Emigration Studies, Institute of Philosophy, Anton Melik Geographical Institute, Karst Research Institute, Ivan Rakovec Institute of Paleontology, Jovan Hadži Institute of Biology and Institute of Medical Sciences.