The Academy was created the year 2000 by 23 founded members, all of them professors or ex. Professors from different Universities in Greece or abroad, but having the Greek Nationality.

The Chair of the Academy is at the premises of the Agricultural University of Athens
75, Iera Odos Str. Athens 11855, Greece
Tel. +30 210 5294001,
Fax. +30 210 5294023
Cel. +30 6945 801200,

The President of the Academy is elected among the ordinary members for a period of 2 years.
The President for the period 2008 – 2010 is
Dr. Emmanouel Rogdakis
Professor of Animal Science at the Agric. University of Athens
Tel. +30 210 529 4431
Fax. + 30 210 5294442

and the Secretary General is
Prof. Em. Spyros Kyritsis
Tel. +30 210 5294001,
Fax. +30 210 5294023
Cel. +30 6945 801200,

The Status of the Academy provides the following ten (10) Departments

  • Department of Plant Sciences
  • Department of Animal Sciences
  • Department of Food Sciences
  • Department of Biotechnology and Biology
  • Department of Economical and Social Sciences
  • Department of Agric. and Forestry Engineering
  • Department of Forestry Sciences
  • Department of Veterinary Sciences
  • Department Environment and Ecology
  • Department of Different Related Sciences

In the Status of the Academy there is provision for 47 ordinary members in total, distributed among the ten Departments.

The ordinary members should have the Greek nationality and are elected by the majority of the ordinary members, among the candidates after an open call for an (or more) empty place in a specific Department

There is also provision in the Status for election of extraordinary members of any nationality and in unlimited members.

The year 2008, the total ordinary members are 30, as follows:

Members of the Greek Agricultural Academy